2019 MacDowell Scholarship Winners

The MacDowell Music Club supports young musicians by providing scholarships for college. Stark County (and nearby Caroll and Tuscarawas) high school seniors planning to major in music are encouraged to apply for scholarships to help fund their studies.  Applications are available in January of each year, with auditions in June. For further information and application, please contact Mark Thewes, scholarship chairperson at


Our 2019 MacDowell Scholarship Winners


Spencer Withnell    Ethel Pritz Scholarship, Trumpet    $3,000.00

Nathaniel Clevinger    Gladys Lazarus Scholarship, Clarinet    $2,500.00

Kaylee Skaris     Gladys Townsend Scholarship, French Horn   $2,500.00

Courtney Coryk      Lela Cope Scholarship, Flute  $2,500.00

Katie Johnson    Jim Lotze  Scholarship, Oboe     $1,500.00

Ashley Burtscher   MacDowell Scholarship, Soprano     $1,000.00



Aiden Powell   MacDowell Scholarship, Tenor     $500.00


Emma Fleischaker   MacDowell Scholarship, Trombone    $500.00